Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

When applying for a job, your cover letter is your first impression. No matter how well your resume is written, and no matter how well you qualify for a position, a poor cover letter, or lack of one can put your resume on the bottom of the pile.

There is a formula to writing cover letters. You first need to understand that a cover letter and resume’s purpose is to weed out unqualified candidates. The key is to make your cover letter match the position or job descriptions as closely as possible. Here is an employment ad for Monster.com for an accounting position. A winning cover letter will take the ad apart, and match the applicants skills point by point. Of course, you do not want to stretch the truth or claim to have skills that you do not indeed possess. Accentuate the positive. Ignore skills that are mentioned if you do not match those.

Let’s take the ad apart to formulate your cover letter.

1) This growing company is willing to take new grads or students that can work 8a-5p Monday-Friday.
2) Seasoned Accounting Experts are also encouraged to apply as there are multiple openings! A good understanding of true accounting, previous experience and/or education (Associates or Bachelors) is desired!
3) A good sense of numbers and 10-key is expected.
4) They would love a candidate with Accounts Payable or some similar experience negotiating contracts and shopping vendor’s prices!
5) A strong attention to detail and excellent follow through skills are necessary.
6) Microsoft Excel is used daily in this office so applicants need to have previous knowledge working with this software as well as all of MS Office suites.
7) Company offers full time pay based on what skills you bring to the table and competitive benefits! This job is open due to a promotion! Don’t miss your chance to get in with a company where you can climb the ladder!

Here is a matching cover letter:

Dear Hiring Manager,

I am a recent graduate available to work 8a-5p Monday – Friday. While earning my bachelor’s degree in accounting from State College, I gained accounting experience working for XYZ company. In my accounting clerk position, I used 10-key skills daily. I worked in the Accounts Payable department and was tasked with shopping prices with industrial wire vendors. During my time there, I was praised for my attention to detail and follow through skills. I am proficient in all MS Office software, particularly Excel.

I am looking to join a company in which I can contribute and grow my career. I would like the opportunity to meet with you to learn more about your organization and discuss how my skills meet your needs.

Sincerely,

Remember to follow the ad as closely as possible to make it easy for the employer to match you with the vision of the employee they are looking for.